Secrets

So as some may have noticed I deleted some recent posts and quite frankly haven’t posted anything since. I suppose I felt as though I had lost my voice in a way. I wasn’t sure what to say anymore, and the work I took down wasn’t setting the tone or vibe if you will, that I am trying to produce. The world of blogging is all new to me, and while I love every minute of reading what you all have to say and sharing with you, it gets a tad daunting. But then I remembered that the point of starting this blog was to have fun. So I took some time away to really let that sink in. I asked myself if I was having fun or if I was just taking life a little too seriously. Well turns out I was a bit too focused on the serious part. But enough about that. Here is a real blog post for ya below.

So I recently became obsessed with the concept of the song Secrets by Mary Lambert. The line that caught my attention the most is “I don’t care if the world knows what my secrets are” and I thought yea! But really? Why do “we” (assuming I’m not alone on this) get so caught up on covering up details of our lives? I know I’m guilty of feeling the pressure of what others might think about me if they knew I’ve done xyz (xyz aren’t necessarily people btw…or are they?). But seriously. I would get so stressed out and make anyone who knew my little dirty secret promise me they would never tell anyone ever. Then I grew up and took the of advice my friend who said “those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.” Pretty solid advice if you ask me. So why not expose your secrets. It’s so freeing and sometimes the fact that you’re afraid to tell someone something about you who matters is more damaging than the actual secret you were trying to keep covered.

I witnessed this first hand with my best friend. I didn’t know how she would take the news that I had had sex before. We had been besties all of college, and I never told her. She felt so hurt that I thought I couldn’t trust her with the news. I was so afraid that she would judge me and then lecture me on my life since we’re both religious. I’m not about to go full confession on ya but you get my point. I had gotten so good at keeping it hidden from certain friends that it almost felt as though the burden was getting heavier. Anytime something happened that I would need their advice on I couldn’t bring it up. This mostly applied to the break-up since no one with the exception of those who knew could possibly figure out why I didn’t wanna leave the worst boy-friend in the world. After realizing that people (even friends..perhaps especially friends) are going to judge you no matter what you just have to live your life for you and not anyone else.

Don’t get me wrong there are things I wish I could keep secret forever but in the end when I’m old no one is gonna care. So why let it bother me while I’m young. That’s just silly! So if you feel the need to unburden yourself feel free to post your secrets here. šŸ™‚ Let the world know that you really don’t care who knows.

Author: TheSingleCurl25

Just your not so typical smiling, bubbly single mom with a whirl of curls and an attitude to match it!

2 thoughts on “Secrets”

  1. Certain things we keep hidden because of what we believe. We change what we believe and gain a different perspective. I understand your motives but if sharing a secret makes you free then by all means share. I feel in this place there are no judges and we say what we want, at least I do. šŸ™‚ Please post again, really like your poems šŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

