23 is the new 18

So today is my birthday! Happy Birthday to me? It just feels as though I’m only 16 years old so the fact that I am actually 23 today feels weird to say. I’m not one to make a big deal out of my birthday and quite honestly I rarely ever tell my friends that it’s my birthday. I just enjoy the simple things throughout the day and take the moments to reflect as they come.

So I thought I would reflect on my past 22 years and share a bit of my journey to help ring in this new year of life I have been blessed to see.

The top 5 life changing moments of being 22: (in order oddly enough)

1. I bought my first car

2. My boyfriend (of almost 3 years) and I broke up

3. I recommitted my life to Christ

4. I was in my first car accident

5.  I graduated from Iowa State University

Moments in life where I thought my dreams would never come true:

1. Every time my ex-boyfriend and I broke up

2. Not having become the dancer I always dreamed of being

3. Never having learned how to play an instrument (other than the recorder in 4th grade)

4. Not having found “The One ” yet

5. That time I tried a dating website

Okay so looking at this list is pretty pathetic! But yes at the time I really did feel as though I was hitting a low in my life that I was afraid I wouldn’t be able to bounce back from. But honestly each set back has been the most amazing adventure yet.

Because my ex and I broke up I finally started living my life for myself. I was happy again..like genuinely happy. I loved life and wanted to experience all it had to offer. I recommitted my life to Christ again and promised myself that I would never search for my happiness in others.

Because I had always dreamed of pursuing dance more I started dancing with my old dance company again. I auditioned for the Nutcracker and got in! I was offered a stretch position to come in and teach and my instructors want to help me get on pointe!

Because I had never learned how to play an instrument my mom bought me a keyboard, and I started taking lessons. Now I am playing the Fur Elise and loving every minute of practicing!

Because I haven’t found “The One” yet I focused on creating myself instead. This kinda plays into the break up with my ex, but I realized that I don’t need to “find” anyone. I just want to live my life and enjoy the ride while I’m young.

Because I tried a dating website I realized that life isn’t meant to be controlled. Life happens as I like to say and it can have some crazy, messy, uncontrollable moments, but those happen to be the times where I have learned the best life lessons. I don’t want to control my life because that takes away the surprises and adventure. Life is going to happen whether or not I spend all day worrying about it. I’m still going after my dreams and ambitions, but I learned to be patient.

While the past 22 years of my life have been amazing and wonderful, I feel as though these past 4 years are when I have truly started living. I never learned so many things about myself and others before I started college and I guess that’s why I say I only feel 16.

At 16 you’re old enough to really start doing things on your own. Making important decisions about your future and putting into action the steps towards the career you want to have. Parents also ease up on you because they want to see if all their training is paying off. For me, it was a little rough at first. I was always turning to my mom for advice about everything and anything, but one day it hit me that I have to decide things on my own. It was that day that I would say I felt like I started living for myself (and Christ of course but you get what I mean here). Well now I’m 23 and maybe instead of 16 i’m more 18. I feel sound. By that I mean I really think my decisions through now. My impulsivity has slowed down, and I can see things more clearly now. I know what I want in life and how to get it, and honestly, having those things figured out this early in life just makes the ride all the more enjoyable.

Well here’s to another great memorable year of life! 🙂

Cheers to you all!

Author: TheSingleCurl25

Just your not so typical smiling, bubbly single mom with a whirl of curls and an attitude to match it!

2 thoughts on “23 is the new 18”

  1. If we were to live at the speed of light our lives would last but a second 🙂 Time is relative to us and I don’t think we share this sense of time with other creatures. You are young and full of life which is something to celebrate. Not the passing of another year but all the ones to come. Happy Birthday!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

