Pride

Your pride smoothers the flame of our love.

What it used to be.

It will never stand a chance against the wavering winds ahead.

Doomed from within it feels.

I thought that I’d never felt a love like this, but the more I feel the more I know that this love isn’t how a love should be so…

I digress and I’m left with repeating thoughts of I should have left and I told you so.

But you don’t see what I saw. You don’t bleed what I felt. Our veins are full and heavy, ready to give levey to a new order.

Find peace and comfort elsewhere cause this house wasn’t built for it here.

Say I love you, just to hug you, and cover up the insecurity that you feel. Don’t.

Spare me the change, the agony, the sin called in question in front of Him. Cause you know the way it goes is that you only want to point out my sin.

Bet. You can argue against that one and win. But I bet you could try. Just give up or else you might just die. Trying

I’m trying to be someone else, trying to be someone great. But you take a little bit of my faith and spread it around like You’re planting but the seeds sit on the surface and the birds come and pick them away so there’s no growth cause you never took the time to plant them.

Don’t expect me to be waiting for when you realize you could have loved me better, loved me harder, loved me stronger. Don’t expect my love to be available when you took it and rejected it and made it unavailable. Don’t say what you don’t mean and do what you don’t. Don’t tease me with a ring and tell me tails of what you want. I’ve had enough of my fill to last a lifetime and often I reminse about my days before you.

Despite the struggle and the loneliness, you don’t know the half of it but at least I was accountable to myself and that’s not all of it.

I worked hard. I survived. I showed up and jived. I earned my way through but I’m not going to stop.

Where’s your drive? Where’s your luster? Since I’ve met you you’ve just shown me clusters. Bits and pieces you put together.

Of a romantized life that we’ll never get to be in.

Author: CurlyTimes

The more you read the more you know.

Leave a comment